Penn State got a big and controversial stop early in the fourth quarter.
With Penn State holding a 17-7 lead, Northwestern drove the ball to Penn State’s one and faced a fourth down.
Even though a field goal would have made it a one-score game, Northwestern coach Pat Fitzgerald decided to go for it. The play was simple: A quarterback sneak from Ryan Hilinski.
The play happened, and officials ruled Hilinski short.
Some agreed with the ruling. Some didn’t. Regardless, the play never went under review.
Here’s how Twitter reacted to the call.
— PennState.Rivals.com (@PennStateRivals) October 1, 2022
— Whiteout Weekly (@whiteoutweekly) October 1, 2022
He didn't get in…pretty clear
— Mike Levine (@nitlion18) October 1, 2022
That should be a TD in State College. Back view shows Hilinski was rolling over pile. ESPN crew seemed to miss it.
— John Walters (@jdubs1966) October 1, 2022
Hilinski calls his own number on fourth and goal. Looked like he was in from my vantage point. The play is under review
— Andrew Destin (@AndrewDestin1) October 1, 2022
Nope. Not a touchdown.
— Cory Giger (@CoryGiger) October 1, 2022
Are they challenging that? Sure seems like Hilinski felt like he Tim Doyle'd his way in there.
— Football is a distraction from Field Hockey season (@RiseNU) October 1, 2022
On the replay, I'm not sure how Hilinski didn't get in unless they blew the whistle early
— Matthew Shelton (@M_Shelton33) October 1, 2022
I mean spiritually and ethically speaking Northwestern does not deserve to win this game but Hilinski probably did get in on that QB sneak lol
— Daniel Olinger (@dan_olinger) October 1, 2022