Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

College Football

NCAA to Allow Conferences to Determine Title Game Participants Regardless of Divisions

The NCAA is relaxing its restrictions for Division I FBS conference championship games and allowing conference to send title game participants regardless of division.

In a Wednesday meeting, the NCAA’s Division I Council took away the rule that requires FBS conferences to have two divisions in order to have a conference championship game after the regular season.

The NCAA made this announcement during the meeting.

Conference championship games started becoming prevalent in major college football in 1992, when Alabama beat Florida in the first SEC championship game. The Big 12 had its first title game after the 1996 regular season when the conference began, and the ACC followed in 2005. The Big Ten and Pac 12 were the last to split into divisions and add championship games, doing so after their 2011 seasons.

Penn State has played in an won one Big Ten championship game, beating Wisconsin after the 2016 regular season. The Big Ten, SEC and ACC  are currently discussing how to go about eliminating divisions, and the PAC 12 has already changed it’s title game format. The Big 12 got a waiver to hold its championship game as a 10-team league due to the league playing a round-robin schedule.

Written By

Get NSN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts by email.

More from Nittany Sports Now


1 The year is 1922, Warren G. Harding just made the first Presidential radio address ever. The average American worker made 75 cents an...

College Football

3s Nick Saban let his opinions fly, Jordan Addison officially leaves Pitt for USC and that’s just two heads from a wild day in...

PSU Football

0 Former Penn State and current Miami Dolphins tight end Mike Gesicki speaks with Joe Smeltzer of Nittany Sports Now prior to the Blue-White game,...

College Football

1 Since the Big Ten last realigned its football divisions before the 2014 season, all eight Big Ten championship game winners have been from...

Get Nittany Sports Now in your inbox

Sign-up for email updates and get the whole story first from the Nittany Sports Now team, delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.