Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Penn State Football

Penn State Names End-of-Year Award Winners

Photo by Matt Lynch, Nittany Sports Now: Chop Robinson

Penn State had its annual banquet hosted by the State College Quarterbacks Club Sunday evening.

A bunch of team award winners were announced, including those for offensive, defensive and team MVP.

Running backs Kaytron Allen (851 yards, six touchdowns, 5.3 yards per carry), and Nicholas Singleton (702 yards, eight touchdowns, 4.3 YPC) were co-offensive MVPs.

Defensively, Adisa Isaac earned MVP honors. The fifth-year senior. Isaac, a first-team All-Big Ten performer, led Penn State in tackles for loss (15) and sacks (7.5).

As for team MVP, left tackle Olu Fashanu and defensive end Chop Robinson split the honors. Fashanu, a first-team All-American, will likely be a top five 2024 draft pick. Robinson also seems to be a good bet to go in the first round.

Robinson announced last week that he was opting out of Penn State’s Peach Bowl game against Ole Miss scheduled for Dec. 30 and declaring for the Draft. Fashanu hasn’t made an announcement one way or the other excellent for Penn State since transferring in from Maryland before the 2022 season. He ended this year with 7.5 tackles for loss and four sacks, forcing two fumbles and recovering one and also hurrying the quarterback 16 times.

Fashanu hasn’t announced his future plans yet.
There were plenty of other awards announced, and here they are.

Captain’s Award: LB Dominic DeLuca, S Keaton Ellis, OL Olumuyiwa Fashanu, DE Adisa Isaac, TE Theo Johnson, WR Malick Meiga


Public Service Award: OL Nick Dawkins


Developmental Squad Special Teams Player of the Year: LB Kaveion Keys


Developmental Squad Defensive Player of the Year: LB Kaveion Keys, DE Jake Wilson


Developmental Squad Offensive Player of the Year: WR Ethan Black, OL Addison Penn


Outstanding Run-On Award: OL Dominic Rulli, CB Kolin Dinkins


Dick Maginnis Memorial Award (Outstanding OL): OL Olumuyiwa Fashanu


Reid Robinson Award (Outstanding DL): DE Adisa Isaac, DE Chop Robinson


Iron Lion (Strength & Conditioning Award): TE Theo Johnson


Tim Shaw Thrive Award (Student-athlete who has overcome adversities and been an inspiration to fellow teammates):OL Hunter Nourzad, CB Johnny Dixon


Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (Ultimate Teammate): TE Tyler Warren, CB Daequan Hardy


Ridge Riley Memorial Award (Core Values Award): WR Malick Meiga, DT Dvon Ellies


Highest Academic Average (Cumulative GPA): WR Jan Mahlert


Nittany Lion Club Award (Senior with highest GPA): OL Hunter Nourzad


Letterman’s Club Scholarship (Outstanding graduating senior): OL Nick Dawkins


John Bruno Memorial Award (Outstanding Special Teams):LB Dominic DeLuca

Lions Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award: LB Curtis Jacobs,TE Theo Johnson, OL Caedan Wallace


Quarterback Club Award: DT Hakeem Beamon, WR Dante Cephas, K Alex Felkins, OL Golden Israel-Achumba, WR KeAndre Lambert-Smith, RB Trey Potts, RB Tank Smith, WR Mason Stahl, OL Ibrahim Traore


Keystone Award: LB Abdul Carter, TE Theo Johnson, TE Tyler Warren, S Kevin Winston Jr.

Get NSN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts by email.

More from Nittany Sports Now

Penn State Football

0 It was a Jekyll-and-Hyde type of NFL Combine workout for Penn State OT Olu Fashanu He ran well for a man. Fashanu posted...

Penn State Football

0 It’s fair to say that Penn State OL Caedan Wallace has flown under the radar. Of the 10 Penn State players at the NFL Combine...

Penn State Football

0 Indianapolis— Olu Fashanu is one of the best offensive men in Penn State history. Before this season, no Penn State OL had been a consensus...

Penn State Football

1 Indianapolis— Penn State defensive back Daequan Hardy isn’t very tall (5-foot-10), but he’s quite fast. Hardy put his speed on display at his NFL...