Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Penn State Football

Brown, Porter Honored at Annual Penn State Awards Banquet

Penn State football players honored at annual awards banquet -Penn State Athletics

Ji’Ayir Brown and Joey Porter, Jr. headlined the list of award winners at the annual State College Quarterback Club’s banquet Sunday. The banquet honors Penn State football players with a multitude of different awards.

Brown took home the team’s Most Valuable Player Award while Porter was named the team’s Most Valuable Defensive Player. On the offensive side it was Kaytron Allen and Nicholas Singleton who took home the Most Valuable Offensive Player award.

Former Penn State offensive lineman Gary Gilliam was given the Alumni Athlete Award.

Below is a full list of the award winners from the banquet.

  • Captain’s Award: S Ji’Ayir Brown, QB Sean Clifford, DT PJ Mustipher, OL Juice Scruggs, LS Chris Stoll, LB Jonathan Sutherland
  • Public Service Award: DT Dvon Ellies
  • Developmental Squad Special Teams Player of the Year: WR Jan Mahlert
  • Developmental Squad Defensive Player of the Year: LB Keon Wylie, DE Jake Wilson
  • Developmental Squad Offensive Player of the Year: OL Jim Fitzgerald, WR Jan Mahlert
  • Outstanding Run-On Award: LB Dominic DeLuca, RB Tank Smith
  • Dick Maginnis Memorial Award (Outstanding OL): OL Olumuyiwa Fashanu
  • Reid Robinson Award (Outstanding DL): DE Adisa Isaac, DE Chop Robinson
  • Iron Lion (Strength & Conditioning Award): S Ji’Ayir Brown
  • Tim Shaw Thrive Award (Student-athlete who has overcome adversities and been an inspiration to fellow teammates): OL Bryce Effner, DT PJ Mustipher
  • Bob Mitinger Memorial Award (Ultimate Teammate): TE Brenton Strange, LB Curtis Jacobs
  • Ridge Riley Memorial Award (Core Values Award): OL Juice Scruggs, LB Jonathan Sutherland, WR Mitchell Tinsley
  • Highest Academic Average (Cumulative GPA): WR Jan Mahlert
  • Nittany Lion Club Award (Senior with highest GPA): P Barney Amor
  • John Bruno Memorial Award (Outstanding Special Teams): WR Malick Meiga
  • Most Valuable Offensive Player: RB Kaytron Allen, RB Nicholas Singleton
  • Most Valuable Defensive Player: CB Joey Porter Jr
  • Team Most Valuable Player: S Ji’Ayir Brown
  • Lions Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award: QB Sean Clifford, DT PJ Mustipher, DE Nick Tarburton
  • Quarterback Club Award: S Sebastian Costantini, DT Alex Furmanek, LB Charlie Katshir, TE Grayson Kline, K Jake Pinegar, LB Cody Romano, S Jaden Seider, CB Marquis Wilson
  • Keystone Award: LB Abdul Carter, CB Kalen King, OL Juice Scruggs

The State College Quarterback Club first met in 1941 and along with their annual banquet, they host weekly luncheons which feature James Franklin, Steve Jones and players in an informal question and answer session.

Get NSN in your Inbox

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts by email.

More from Nittany Sports Now

Penn State Football Recruiting

0 Penn State coach James Franklin and his staff coaches are off to a tremendous start recruiting for this cycle. The PSU Class of...

Penn State Football

0 For Penn State fans and college football fans in general, July 19 is a date that they’ve been waiting for than a decade....

Penn State Football

0 At Penn State and everywhere else, college football is as different and unique as it’s ever been in the sports entire existence. The...

Penn State Football All 105

0 All 105 is a Nittany Sports Now series profiling each Penn State football player, and this is a profile of third-year wide receiver Tyler...